Uncategorized

Girl or Boy?

I have been working on a quilt for a friend who is having a baby this summer.  She decided to wait to find out if the baby is a girl or a boy.  For the first time, I had to make a quilt that will work for either.  I found a fun layer cake called “Recess” by American Jane last time I was at the fabric store.  A “layer cake” is a set of forty 12X12 inch squares of matched fabric.  I wanted to keep the quilt really simple and I came upon this picture on a blog I follow.  I had to do some math, but I figured that I could use the one layer cake to make two quilts like this one – one to give away and one for my upcoming Esty shop.  After that, I will still have enough left over to make another tumbler quilt, like this one I made for my mother in law this winter.

The girl or boy top is coming together really quickly.  I love the bright primary colors and how all the fabrics blend.  I have some bright yellow polka dot fabric in my scrap bin that I was planning to use for the border, but I am changing my mind now that I have it together.  I think that I am going to get something in the navy color to tone it down a little.  Another great excuse to go back to the fabric store!

3 thoughts on “Girl or Boy?

  1. The quilt that her mother-in-law uses EVERYDAY and LOVES very much! This is a great baby quilt Deidra and I love the idea of a navy border… you have a great artist’s eye!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

