Uncategorized

So long Stars & Stripes

I haven’t been sewing much lately.  In fact, it has been over a month since I spent any time with my sewing machine.  Today I snuck in just a few minutes to touch up a quilt that I am saying goodbye to.  This was the third quilt I ever made, and the first time I didn’t use a pattern.  I finished it last July.  For the last year, it has been sitting on a chair in our living room, where our kitty spent a lot of time curled up on it.  Although I love it, it doesn’t really match anything in our house and has always looked out of place.  My favorite thing about it is the star I quilted in the center of each block.  They were done freehand and so each one is a little different.

A couple of weeks ago we stayed overnight with an old friend.  The whole time we were at Becky’s house, I kept thinking about this quilt and how it really was meant to be hers.  It will fit perfectly in her house and I know she will love it.

So, I am sending the quilt off to its rightful home today to surprise Becky.  So long Stars & Stripes.

Best of all, this gives me an excuse to make another quilt to go in its place!

Leave a Reply

