Uncategorized

Changes

There have been a lot of changes for us in the last few months.  School took a lot more time than I anticipated, we found out we are having a little one this spring, and we bought a house and moved in December!  Through it all, I have tried to keep quilting here and there, but it has definitely been a challenge and posting on here has obviously been low on the to do list.  Work on the Dotty Dresden has been slow and I am still sewing on the circular centers.  I didn’t finish my holiday lap quilt either.  Guess it will be something to look forward to for next year.

I did have one project with a timeline, that I had to get done.  At Christmas, we draw names so everyone gives a gift to just one other person.  With a little help, I “drew” my sister-in-law Andrea.  I heard that she would really like one of my quilts and this gave me the perfect excuse to make one for her. I knew I wanted to do something simple and modern.  I had always loved this quilt on one of my favorite quilting blogs, Cluck Cluck Sew, so it was the inspiration.  I found a stack of pretty fabric on etsy, then added some more from my stash and the local fabric store. 

Good thing  I started early.  With classes and the move, it took me until the day before our gift exchange to finish up.  But, it was worth the wait and I think that Andrea was pretty happy with how it turned out.  

My favorite thing about the quilt is the back.  I wanted to do something different than just using a plain background, so I sewed strips of leftover fabric together to break it up a little bit. 

Winter quarter has started and I am taking two more classes.  I can hardly wait until March when my classes are done and I will have a little more time for quilting.  A baby quilt is calling my name.

One thought on “Changes

Leave a Reply

