Uncategorized

Turning Twenty-One

I finally finished it.  Well, number one of two anyway.  I started these quilts over two years ago, when I just started quilting.  The pattern is called “turning twenty” and uses fat quarters.  The piecing went really quickly, but when I started quilting this first one, it wasn’t turning out how I wanted and I got really frustrated.  I decided to put it away for a while and come back to it later.  Little did I know it would be two years later.  I don’t even really like the fabrics anymore, but it feels good to get something crossed off my to-do list.  I don’t know what it is, but I am a lot less picky these days.  I actually like how the quilting turned out.  I straight-line quilted it along the edges of each square, which created a fun cross-hatch pattern on the back.

 

I couldn’t resist adding just a little stippling on the outside border.  I do like the orange and brown together.  Feels like fall.

 

Here’s a little snapshot into what my days are like.  This is the only semi-full shot I could get while the light was good (and my little man was still awake.)  Anytime I lay a quilt down on the floor, it’s like a magnet:  he can’t stay off of it, and he leaves a trail of legos everywhere he goes.  He might have something to do with why I’m a little less picky about the details these days.  Those little details don’t seem to matter as much any more…and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

Leave a Reply

