Sewalong · Tips & Tricks · Tutorial

More Tiny Dresden Tips and Tricks

Hey everyone!  Only four days in, and the Tiny Dresden Party has been so much fun!  Thank you for sewing along with me.  Today, I am sharing a few more tips and tricks for sewing tiny Dresdens.  I also am linking up to my first ever instructional video (eep!) where I show you how I make the centers for my Dresdens.

Several folks have mentioned their machine “eating” the Tiny Dresden blades as they sew them. Two tips to help with that:

1. Starch your blades after you cut them and before you sew them. This makes them a little stiffer and easier to work with.

2. Decrease the stitch length on your machine to 1.2-1.5 or so. This will help the blades feed in easier.

Now, some tips for the center. Mary over at Sunny Day Supply shared that she likes to use round cookie cutters when finding just the right size for her center circle. Brilliant!Stacey of Sew Stacey Sew discovered that the lid for a wide mouth canning jar is the perfect size for tracing to add seam allowance to the center for my Mini Dresden Pinnie. So clever!Finally – how do you get a perfectly round center?  Here’s a little video I filmed just today, showing you exactly how I do it.

Do you have any tips to share?  Leave a comment below!  Thanks for stopping by and Happy Sewing!

9 thoughts on “More Tiny Dresden Tips and Tricks

  1. I watched your video late tonight — 2:30ish am., and my hubbie is asleep, so I decided to see it without sound. Your method is so clear, and I can easily understand how to make to centers perfectly. Great job! I hope that you make more videos, and I will go to YouTube right now to subscribe. (I love
    Dresden Plates!)

    Like

Leave a comment