Uncategorized

Special Deliveries

I have delivered a couple of special things in the last few weeks.  First of all, we welcomed William “Liam” Mark McCollum who was delivered on Wednesday, May 11 at 4:02 p.m.  He was 7 lbs. 15 ozs. and 20.5 inches.  We have been settling into our new role as parents and are loving every minute with this little guy.  He is a great baby and making things really easy on us so far.  We think we’ll keep him.

Also, I finally delivered my sister’s quilt to her just this Tuesday.  It has been a long and slow process, but I love how it turned out.  I started working on this quilt almost a year ago when she asked me to make it last June.  It is by far the biggest quilt I have ever made and also the first quilt that I had quilted by someone else.

The pattern is from Material Obsession – one of my favorite quilting books.  Desirae picked out a line of fabric from Maria Horner, called “Good Folks” and then I found the polka dot fabric for the background and added a few other fabrics.  You can read about the steps I took to make the dresden plates here and here.

The quilting was done by Christina over at The Sometimes Crafter and I love how it turned out.  I am so glad that I didn’t try to do this one myself.

I was determined to get this finished up before I had the baby.  Sewing up the last 18 inches of the binding was what I did to pass the time while I waited for Adam to get home and take me to the hospital.  But I did it!  Last weekend I made up this little label and finally, this huge project was ready for delivery.  I hope it is well loved and used for many years to come.

I haven’t found a lot of time for sewing yet, but I think as we settle into a routine, I will be able to get back into the swing of things and find a spare moment here and there to sew.  I can’t wait to make a baby boy quilt.  So many fun fabrics to choose from…..

3 thoughts on “Special Deliveries

Leave a comment